A Super Easy Summer Tart

Spring and summer is the perfect time for spur of the moment dinner parties and this weekend was a great start to the season.  I was visiting my parents and we pulled a quick Spring dinner together – lamb chops, roasted new potatoes, asparagus, and a big salad.  When I ran to the store, I was looking for something for dessert and saw a fancy fruit tart.  I thought I could do that and created the recipe below. 

It ended up pretty good … we had a slice for dinner, and then at an impromptu brunch the next morning, I served the leftovers to several aunts and an uncle, who thought it was great.

Summer Tart

  • 1 puff pastry, thawed
  • 1/2 cup of Mascarpone cheese
  • 3 tablespoons of raspberry jam (or your choice of flavor)
  • sliced fruit – your choice, I used 3 kiwi, 1/2 pint of blueberries, and a 1/2 pint of strawberries

Lightly roll out the puff pastry and poke with a fork.  Bake at 400 for about 20 minutes, until golden brown.  Mix about a tablespoon of the jam into the Mascarpone.  Remove from the oven and spread the cheese on the pastry.  It will melt slightly.  Layer the fruit on the tart in the design of your choice.  Melt the remaining jam in the microwave and spread on the fruit.  Let the tart cool, slice and serve.  It is great with ice cream or whip cream.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

