Southwest “Stir Fry”

The recipe was inspired by my friend Cara … several years ago she introduced me to Black Bean Sweet Potato Burritos, one of my favorite vegetarian dishes.  The other day I was in the mood for them, but wanted something a little different and this recipe was born.  Not only is this a healthy, meatless meal, it is also really economical.  I estimate I spent about $8 on this, which can easily serve 4 people.  It is also flexible, I served it three ways as described below.

Southwest Stir Fry

  • 3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 each red, green, yellow bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup of frozen corn or fresh corn
  • Dash of olive oil
  • Your choice of seasoning, I used  Arizona Dreaming

Saute the onion with a dash of olive oil, as the onion begins to sweat, add the sweet potatoes.  Cook on medium-low heat for about 20 minutes until the potato begins to soften, if it sticks you can add more oil or a splash of liquid (water, wine, chicken broth).  Add the beans, peppers, corn, and seasoning.  Season to taste and saute another 10 minutes or so until the vegetables have softened and the beans are heated thoroughly.

Serving Option One: Main dish

This was a great main dish, I had it with some guacamole and sour cream.  It would also be great with fresh avocado. Another night I had a green salad to go with it.

Serving Option Two: Stuffed Peppers

Wash green pepper well, remove top and seeds from inside.  Stuff with sweet potato mixture and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.  Add some Pepper Jack or other cheese of your choice for the last 10 minutes.

Serving Option Three: Side Dish

While filling, this would be a good side dish, especially for something like grilled chicken or salmon.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish, Sides and Salads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

