St. Patrick’s Day: Buttermilk Brown Bread

 A classic St. Patrick’s Day menu item in my family was Irish Soda bread. My Mom has a great recipe which I will make and post later this week, but I was interested in trying something different. I came across this recipe a few weeks ago on King Arthur’s web site and it has stuck in mind ever since then. The resulting bread was terrific and came together in a snap … maybe 15 minutes prep.  This is a great bread for non-bread makers.

This will definitely go in my regular rotation, it would be amazing with soup on rainy day, or as accompaniment to mussels and a salad. This would also be a great breakfast bread, in fact, I will be having a slice tomorrow with my fruit and yogurt.  I used it for the smoked salmon appetizer and it will also be great for sandwiches.

Buttermilk Brown Bread (from King Arthur)

  • 4 cups wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk powder*
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups water*
  • 1 large egg 1
  • 1/4 cup melted butter or vegetable oil *
  • Or substitute 1 1/2 cups buttermilk in place of the water and buttermilk powder.

Topping

  • 1 – 2 tablespoons of melted butter

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Grease a 2-quart baking dish, or an 8″ or 9″ cast-iron skillet or cake pan that’s at least 1 1/2″ deep. I used a 2 quart dish, but would have loved to have made it in a skillet.

Blend the flour, sugar, buttermilk powder, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Mix the water (or buttermilk), egg, and melted butter or oil. Note, I did not use warm water but wish I would have, the butter started to solidify with the addition of the water.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the liquids. Stir together until blended and no dry spots remain; the dough will be soft and sticky. The recipe described it as a stiff batter.  I added some extra water and it was still a sticky dough.   I was convinced it would be awful, but turned out great.

Put the dough in the pan, mounding it in the center. Brush the top with the melted butter. Wait 5 minutes for butter to absorb, then put in the oven.  Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until done.

Note:  the recipe that this links to is a little different, I used the recipe on their blog, but I am sure both are great.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Breakfast/brunch, Sides and Salads. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St. Patrick’s Day: Buttermilk Brown Bread

  1. Pingback: A St. Patrick’s Day Feast – Corned Beef, Baked Cabbage, Bread Pudding and More | Cook Books & Ceilithe

Leave a Reply

