St. Patrick’s Day: Baked Cabbage with Apples and Bacon

I have to admit that I do not like cooked cabbage … I tried it many times and am never a fan.  I like cabbage raw, but really not cooked.  So I am always looking for a recipe that involved cooked cabbage that I like.  And, I have to say, this was good.  Of course, the bacon helps, but it has a great tang that really livens up the meal.

This recipe was adapted from two different recipes in Vegetables by James Peterson.

Baked Cabbage with Apples and Bacon

  • 1 head of cabbage, remove outer leaves and core, roughly chop
  • 8 slices of bacon (I used pepper bacon, if you use regular then add pepper)
  • 3 apples, peeled and chopped
  • 3 tablespoons each, apple cider vinegar and white wine vinegar

Cook the bacon for about 8 minutes, until begins to crisp and released most of its fat.  Remove most of the fat, leaving a few tablespoons in the pan.  Add the apples, cabbage and vinegar.  Deglaze the pan with vinegar and transfer into a glass container.  Some metals react with the cabbage and turn it a strange color.

Bake in a preheated oven (350) for about an hour.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Cook book, Sides and Salads, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St. Patrick’s Day: Baked Cabbage with Apples and Bacon

  1. Pingback: A St. Patrick’s Day Feast – Corned Beef, Baked Cabbage, Bread Pudding and More | Cook Books & Ceilithe

Leave a Reply

