A St. Patrick’s Day Feast – Corned Beef, Baked Cabbage, Bread Pudding and More

Given the name of this blog, I knew I needed to do a St. Patrick’s Day post and wanted to do something that was actually enjoyable … a step beyond the traditional boiled corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.  Now, on the off chance my Mom finds this blog and reads it, there is nothing wrong with the traditional way she made it.  But there are opportunities for improvement.

So my menu included the basics with a few twists:

*For readability, I have broken most of the recipes into their own post.  With the exception of the spinach salad which I made solely for something green and the smoked salmon toasts which I forgot to photograph.  Here is the recipe for the toasts:

Smoked Salmon Toasts

  • Irish brown bread or your bread of choice
  • Cream cheese, season with garlic and herbs or goat cheese
  • Smoked salmon
  • Lemon
  • Chives or parsley for garnish, chopped

Pre-heat broiler.  Slice the brown bread in relatively thin slices and cut each slice in half.  Spread with cheese and place in broiler.  Heat until cheese bubbles and remove.  Add the smoked salmon, squeeze briefly with lemon.  Sprinkle with herbs.

I hope you try one or two of the recipes and enjoy it.  Let me know what you think.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Ceilithe Food, Cook book, Dinner, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A St. Patrick’s Day Feast – Corned Beef, Baked Cabbage, Bread Pudding and More

  1. Ruth says:

    I love the effort and care you went to in creating a menu of recipes!! Thx for posting some variations on a long-standing theme!!!

  2. Ruth … thank you for your support! Cynthia

Leave a Reply

