Brown Sugar Oatmeal Muffins with Apples and Pears

Today began with a wonderful brisk walk in the park with Pippi, and it is our routine to stop at Park Ave Coffee on the way home. While I was waiting for my latte, I was eyeing the muffins that had just come out of the oven. When we got home, I spotted some apples and pears on the counter that are getting pretty close to the end of their prime. An idea was born … apple pear muffins. A quick Google search did not reveal many appetizing options that worked with the ingredients in my pantry, but then I checked out Taste of Home Baking.

This is one of the many cookbooks I have that came from my failure to properly respond “no” for the Book of the Month club. I honestly have not used it much; in fact, this may be the first recipe I have tried from the book. But, it worked today. They had a recipe for a Brown Sugar Oat Muffin that looked really good. I adapted it a bit, used all whole wheat flour instead of part wheat, skim milk instead of 2 percent, part white, added almonds, added some apples and pears, and also added nutmeg, crystallized ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. I also added a streusel topping.

In the end, they turned out pretty good. I had one for breakfast and shared a few with a neighbor who reported positive reviews.

Brown Sugar Oatmeal Muffins with Apples and Pears

Adapted from Taste of Home Baking

  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 ½ cups of whole wheat flour
  • 1 pear, peeled and chopped
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped
  • ¾ cup of brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • ¾ cup of milk
  • ¼ cup of oil
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

    Pippi politely requests a muffin ...

  • 1 handful of cinnamon chips
  • ¼ cup of sliced almonds
  • 1 good shake of cloves and nutmeg, maybe ½ teaspoon
  • 1 sprinkle of crystallized ginger, maybe ½ teaspoon

Topping

  •  ¼ cup each of oats, brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup each of pecans, cinnamon chips (I had this on hand and wanted to use them up)
  • 2 TBSP of butter, chopped into small pieces

Mix eggs, milk, oil, vanilla until well blended. In a separate bowl, combine all dry ingredients, mix in the apples and pears. Fold the wet and dry ingredients together. Mix until combined, but be careful not to blend too much … think of brownies versus a cake. Spoon into a muffin pan. Either grease first or use cupcake liners.

For the topping: Mix all ingredient s together, spoon on the unbaked muffin.

Bake at 400 for about 15-17 minutes.

The "plus one" muffin

The "plus one" muffin

I made a dozen plus one in an average size pan. I am sure the plus one is because I doctored the recipe and added the fruit.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Breakfast/brunch, Cook book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

