Weeknight dining: Quick Seafood Lasagna

The other day I stopped by some of the shops in the Italian section of St. Louis, called The Hill.  You can find wonderful authentic Italian food and groceries there.  While I was browsing, I came across some home-made seafood ravioli, I did not buy them, but could not stop thinking about them.  A few days later they were still on my mind so I made a quick seafood lasagna, not quite the same, but addressed the craving. 

The recipe below made enough for an 8 by 8 pan, but it is very rich and filling so that would easily serve 6 people, probably with some leftovers.

Quick Seafood Lasagna

  • 1/2 package of lasagna noodles, I used roasted red pepper noodles from Pappardella’s
  • 1 pound of shrimp (I used frozen)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 1-2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 1-2 cups ricotta cheese
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups parmesan cheese
  • 1 -2 cups of white sauce (butter, flour, milk)

Bring the water to a boil and cook the lasagna noodles, when al dente, drain and rinse with cold water.  While this is going on, saute the onions, then add shrimp, I also added a few generous shakes of Tuscan Sunset.  Cook until the shrimp is no longer pink.  Remove from heat and make the white sauce.   Add some of the cheese to the sauce, I added about a cup of ricotta and 1/4 cup of parmesan.  Chop the shrimp and mix with the remaining cheeses, salt and pepper to taste reserve a bit of the parmesan for the top.  Layer the noodle, seafood mix, and sauce. Top the last layer with remaining cheese and some pepper.

Bake at 400 for about 30 -40 minutes.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

