Puff Pastry Fun: Spinach Mushroom Goat Cheese Squares

For many years, I was afraid of puff pastry.  I know it is irrational, but it always seemed so intimidating.  But then I finally tried it and loved it.  Now, it is a “go to” part of my appetizer rotation.  A few days I ago I was looking for something to make that did not involve a trip to the store and used ingredients I had in the house.  I was feeling pizza like, but did not want all the dough so created a modified pizza with goat cheese, spinach, and mushrooms.  It was great on the side with some butternut squash soup, but would also be a terrific appetizer or even a great brunch item.  It is best warm, but also okay at room temperature. 

Spinach Mushroom Goat Cheese Squares

1 sheet of puff pastry, thawed

4-5 TBSP of cream cheese or other soft seasoned cheese, I used a blend of garlic/chive cream cheese and veggie Boursin

 8 ounces of mushroom, roughly chopped, I used baby portabellas

1 package of fresh spinach

4 ounces of goat cheese, crumbled

1 shallot, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

Olive oil

Wine, if you have it

Saute the garlic and shallot in olive oil until they begin to soften, add the mushrooms.  If needed and available, add a dash of wine.  Water or broth would work fine too.  As the mushrooms begin to cook and soften, add the spinach and cover.  Stir frequently.  When the spinach has wilted, turn burner to low, cook for another minute or so, then turn off and remove from heat.

Spread the puff pastry on a cookie sheet.  Gently spread the cream cheese.  Spoon the mushroom/spinach mixture over the cheese.  Make sure to poke the pasty with a fork. Sprinkle goat cheese over the top. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Breakfast/brunch, Dinner, Lunch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

