Not My Mother’s Chicken Soup: Magical Asian Chicken Broth with Wontons

Not My Mother's Chicken Soup

Nothing is more wintery than home-made chicken soup, perfect for cold winter lunches or even dinner, and of course, the best treatment for colds and flu.

Yesterday, I was feeling like chicken soup, but wanted something a little more intense than the traditional soup.  I considered Cock-A-Leekie soup, a Scottish chicken and leek soup,  I even went to the store, bought all the ingredients, except for the leeks – a rather important ingredient.   I had already started making home-made broth and was considering alternatives when I picked up the Wall Street Journal and saw an article on a magical chicken broth.  I was hooked.  I finished the broth and then chilled it  to remove the extra fat.  Then this morning, I pulled it back out and let the magic begin.

The resulting golden broth is wonderful, a complex flavor that would be uber soothing on a scratchy throat or help loosen clogged sinuses. The wontons provide enough substance to feel full. 

Here is the recipe I used, slightly different than the one in the Journal, but close.  The article also has some great shortcuts if you do not, or cannot mess with home-made stock.

Magical Asian Broth

1 chicken cut  up

Water

3yellow onions, quartered

5 cloves of garlic

3 inches of fresh ginger, peeled

Wontons (frozen or fresh)

Simmer the chicken, 2 onions and 3 cloves of garlic until the meat falls off the bones.  Turn off, let it cool and remove the chicken.  Remove the chicken meat from the bones, discarding skin, save for another use.  Strain the broth and chill.  Once the remaining fat has solidified, remove the fat and reheat the broth.  Add the additional onion, garlic and ginger.  Simmer for at least an hour, uncovered, so it reduces.

At this point, you can remove it, strain it and use it anyway you want. 

I added some chicken cilantro wontons I had in the freezer from Trader Joes.  Or you can make your own.  My friend Kathy has a great and easy recipe here for potstickers that would be amazing in this soup. 

Enjoy!

Note: Apologies for being going so long.  Things were a little too busy and I was not as focused as I should have been.

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Lunch, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

