Marathon Brunch

Today was the St. Louis Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon, and my house happened to be at mile 25 (or 12 for the half marathoners), can you think of a better excuse for a party?  As soon as I heard about the route, and realized that due to street closures I would be trapped, I knew that it was time for a party.  As it turns out, I had several friends running in it so it was even more fun to cheer everyone as they ran passed.

Note: Apologies for the photos, I did not stop to snap anything until about 3 hours into the party then I just used my phone.

I decided to go with a rock star or runner menu … healthy or decadent options. 

The menu included:

Drinks

  • Coffee (with all the fixings include Baileys and Kahula)
  • Assorted juices
  • Assorted teas
  • Soda
  • Bloody Marys
  • Hot chocolate
  • Mimosas

 

 

Food

  • Fresh fruit
  • Bagels and English Muffins with spreads galore (below)
  • Pumpkin bread
  • Cinnamon coffee cake
  • Breakfast pizza
  • Spinach puffs
  • Blueberry- Raspberry Muffins

Spreads

  • Cream cheese (regular, smoked salmon, garlic/chive)
  • Butter (plain and cinnamon)
  • Strawberry jam
  • Orange Peach Nectarine marmalade
  • Spiced Blueberry jam
  • Bacon jam
  • Honey
  • Peanut Butter
  • Nutella

And of course lots of noisemakers to rally the runners!  We had runners coming through from about 8:45 am to 2:30 pm, and the party ran from about 8 to 2.  It was a really easy party, most everything was made in advance and lasted well without too much fussing.  The most work I did was make a few pots of coffee, although I did start off a big order of coffee from Park Avenue Coffee which helped, especially since it is in walking distance.  I also brought the toster outside which was a popular item.

One surprise hit was the breakfast pizza.  Originally, I was planning a bacon cheddar biscuit, but since I had something the night before and expected guests at 8 am, I did not want to mess with pastry in the morning.  However, I felt I needed something else in the savory family, and the recipe below is the result.

Breakfast Pizza

  • 1 refrigerated pizza crust
  • ½ pound of black pepper bacon
  • 8 eggs
  • Dollop of sour cream
  • Milk
  • 1 -2 cups of Cheddar cheese
  • 4 ounces of cream cheese

Pre-heat oven to 375.  Cook the bacon until crispy, drain.  Mix the eggs, milk, and sour cream.  Cook almost all the way, but keep a little moist.

Press the crust out on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake 8-10 minutes.  Spread the cream cheese on the crust (note, next time I would add some seasoning to the cream cheese).  Layer the eggs, bacon, and cheddar cheese.  Bake 15 – 20 minutes until golden brown.  Cut into squares, serve with salsa.  Again, next time, I would add some sliced green onions.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Breakfast/brunch, Ceilithe Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Brunch

  1. kbosin says:

    Sounds wonderful! I miss your backyard and all of the wonderful parties there!

Leave a Reply

