Baking with Almond Meal

Recently,  I’ve been interested in cooking with almond meal.  I have several friends who are on gluten free diets and I love almonds, plus it has more protein than flour so a nice added benefit.  A few weeks ago, I tried two recipes.

The first was completely made up, essentially a late summer quick bread with lots of peaches and apples.  I used preserves instead of sugar and almond meal instead of flour; it was very good, perhaps a little too sweet.  It could have been a great coffee cake or even dessert.

The second recipe was actually a recipe – Almond Citrus Cake.  I was really intrigued by the recipe.  Here it is:

Ingredients:
1 pound citrus: lemons, oranges, or tangerines, or a combination (I used oranges, lemons, clemintines and a lime)
6 eggs
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2-1/3 cups almond flour or almond meal
1 teaspoon baking powder

 Place the whole citrus in a medium-sized saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring the water to a boil, reduce the heat and let simmer for 2 hours, keeping the fruit covered with water. Let cool. 

Cut the cooled citrus in half and remove any seeds. Place the citrus – skin, pith and all – in a food processor and pulse several times until the fruit is finely chopped.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a springform pan with parchment paper (including the sides), and spray the paper with cooking spray.

In a bowl, beat the eggs well. Add the sugar, almond meal, and baking powder. Then add the chopped fruit. Mix well. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake 1 hour or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely before removing from the pan.  I topped with powder sugar.

All in all, this was okay.  I am not sure it will be in the permanent rotation.  I think it needs a little something more, perhaps an orange glaze or whip cream would help.  But, given this was my first experience with almond meal, I feel good about the results.  It will definitely be an ingredient I will continue to use in my cooking.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

