Buttermilk Spice Cake

I’m one of those people who rarely wins things, but earlier this year I won some great samples from Bite of the Best (http://www.biteofthebest.com – apologies, but the linking function does not seem to be functioning).  I won two packages of Saco Cultured Buttermilk Blend and one of Saco Premium Cocoa.

I received it right before I left for China and really did not have time to do much with it immediately.  When I returned I had grand visions of making lots of things, but things were a little on the busy side so I broke into for random items, buttermilk dumplings, brownies, biscuits, but still had visions of really playing with it.  Well, here it is Labor Day weekend and that has not happened so I thought I would post one recipe, for a Buttermilk Spice Cake.

This recipe was based off of a recipe of Emerill and is a perfect fall dessert.  It is actually pretty easy to make, but the recipe looks harder than actually is, at least that’s how it felt to me.

Buttermilk Spice Cake

  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 5 large eggs, separated
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg
  • 1teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 cup of pecans
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk or 4 Tablespoons of the SACO buttermilk blend and 1 cup of water

Preheat the oven to 350.

Lightly grease and flour 2 round cake pans or one 9 by 13 pan.  Cream the brown sugar and butter. With the mixer running, add the oil in a steady stream. Add the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, spices and salt into a medium-size mixing bowl. Alternately add the flour mixture and the buttermilk to the batter, mixing well. In another large mixing bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, then fold them into the cake batter. Pour the batter evenly into the prepared pans.

Bake until the center springs back when touched, about 35 minutes for the 9 by 13 pan.  

 Cool, then frost, I used a traditional white frosting and sprinkled pecans on it. 

I’m planning to bring the cake the office tomorrow so we will see how others like it, but it smells divine. When I make it again, I will bake it a few minutes less and perhaps substitute the oil with applesauce.

 The Buttermilk blend was really easy to use and handy.  Buttermilk is a tough thing, either you don’ t have it or you have way too much.  This has a nice shelf life (refrigerate after opening) and is nice to have on hand, I’ve used it a lot more than I thought I would.  And, if you are a pancake or biscuit person, I would definitely get this, it would be great to have on hand if you make those items regularly.

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in dessert, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buttermilk Spice Cake

  1. kbosin says:

    Nice. Let us know how it was received. Although hey, you show up at work with a beautiful cake on the day after labor day, everybody will be happy. I use buttermilk a lot for those orange flax bran muffins, and it does come in a larger container than the one cup per batch of muffins that I need. I have learned though, that buttermilk lasts longer than the expiration date – WAY longer. So, don’t feel like you have to pitch it, save it and shake it and smell it, and you’ll be surprised how long it lasts.

Leave a Reply

