Cook book: Sacramental Magic in Small Town Cafe

This was one of the first cook books I ever bought and it is delightful, as much stories as recipes from Brother Juniper’s Cafe.  And, sadly, it has been a number of years since I picked up this book, I forgot how wonderful the stories are and how good the recipes are too.

Last weekend, I made a meal for a friend, bar-be-que pork, home-made mac & cheese, cookies, fresh corn and tomatoes, and coleslaw.  Now,  I’m not a big slaw fan, but remembered this recipe from many years ago.  It is simple, and really perfect.  I remember the first time I made it, not sure of the occasion, but I was a broke student.  The purple cabbage was 15 cents cheaper than the white so I bought that, and served lavender coleslaw … a perfect dish for Pride Fest, but not the most appetizing look.

Anyway, here is the recipe. 

Coleslaw

Each recipe in the book is proceeded with a story, this chapter includes a reference to MASH, one of my all time favorite shows, specifically the episode when Hawkeye gets ribs from Chicago and someone says “you forgot the slaw?”

Head of cabbage

1/2 cup of finely chopped onion

1 1/2 cups of good mayo

1/4 apple cider vingar

1/2 cup of sugar

lots of black pepper – recipe calls for 1 tsp, I use a little more

Finely chop the cabbage and onion, combine with the other ingredients.  I find it is easier to mix the wet items and then add the onion and cabbage.  Refrigerate for at least one hour, but I think it is better the next day (and the book agrees).

Enjoy!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

