Farmer’s Market and Summer Dessert

I’m very fortunate to live less than a mile from Soulard Farmer’s Market (www.soulardmarket.com – still trying to learn how to make links actually work) and was up early and at the market.  Soulard has been in operation in one shape or another since 1779 – yes, the first two numbers are 1 and 7.  The market is a great place for people watching and has a blend of the modern, fancy farmer’s markets (gourmet cheese, organic produce) as well as providing an option for low-cost produce, with many stands accepting food stamps.   Everyone I have ever taken to the market has loved it and I have so many fond memories that I’m sure will be shared at another time.  Below are some photos from the market on Saturday.

Yesterday, I went to a friend’s house for an amazing meal and I brought dessert.  I went to the market with the intention of buying what looked good and planned to create a dessert from that.  I spotted a juicy pint of blackberries at one of my favorite vendors – a small farm in Southern IL that always has an interesting a terrific selection of locally grown produce, herbs, and flowers.  I must be channeling my friend in Maryland – check out two of her latest blackberry related posts at http://chesapeakejournal.wordpress.com/.  Once I had the blackberries, I was on a hunt to figure out the rest of the dish.

This was the result:

And, it was a super fast to pull together, plus I needed something that traveled well.  Kathie and her daughter both said it was good.  Here is how it came together.

I started with puff pastry, with an egg wash and a touch of sprinkled sugar.  I then cut it into squares and baked in muffin tins.  Next time, I would roll it out a little more.

 

It baked for about 15-17 minutes, until it was golden brown. Next time, I’d go for closer to 20 minutes. 

Then I filled the little cups with some lemon curd and topped with a blackberries, raspberries, and kiwi.  I then I brushed it with a bit melted apricot jam.  The jam really helped hold the fruit together plus make it look prettier.  We served it with vanilla ice cream.

From this:

To this:

I love cooking with inspiration from farmer’s markets.

 

 

 

 

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in BYO?, dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farmer’s Market and Summer Dessert

  1. kbosin says:

    oh yeah. that looks great!

    And of course – great minds think alike, eh?

    Just gathered all the ingredients for the onion tart you posted. I’ll let you know how it is. But heck. I love it already!

  2. Yum. Enjoy the start and I was wishing I could make your jam!

  3. “Enjoy the start” = “Enjoy the tart”!

Leave a Reply

