Weekend of Cooking

As we enter the 4th of July weekend, I am looking forward to a weekend of cooking.  I’m headed into visit my parents and have two meals planned, a birthday lunch for my Aunt Barbara and a belated Father’s Day dinner for my Dad. 

I was hoping to use the produce delivery for inspiration and it was only so-so … some melons, sweet potatoes, cute little green eggplant, and more (see below), but I was hoping for other items.  And, the extra heirloom tomatoes I ordered were  given to someone else.

Below are the likely menus for this weekend, but subject to change based on ingredients, guest’s tastes, and my whims.

Birthday Lunch

Melon with prosciutto

Salmon with garlic and ginger and stone fruit slaw

Onion tart

Thai Cucumber salad

Asparagus

Spring orzo

Corn- tomato sauté

Almond berry cake

Dad’s Dinner

Tomato Tart

Assorted cheeses

Green salad with goat cheese, dried cherries, nuts in a balsamic dressing

Lamb grilled with rosemary and Dijon

Roasted white and sweet potatoes

Parmesan green beans

Roasted mixed peppers peppers

Crème brulee

Have a great holiday!

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Summer Challenge, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend of Cooking

  1. kbosin says:

    Would love to see some pics of the meals when you make them! Also – onion tart recipe? That sounds really good. And thai cucumber salad. Enjoy! Have a great weekend and a special hello to the folks!

Leave a Reply

