Weekend Cooking

This was a great weekend for cooking … the beginnings of the summer produce coupled with some time to spend in the kitchen.  Heaven for me! 

So what did I make?  On Saturday, I had a ton of errands and got home just after 5, but needed to meet friends at the concert in Lafayette Park.  The heirloom tomatoes were calling my name – loudly – so I made a super quick tomato tart.  It came together and baked in less than 45 minutes … and it was delicious!  Although, by the time I hauled it to the park, with the chair, blanket, wine, corkscrew, glasses, oh, and an 18 month old lab puppy, it did look a little disheveled.

But, the recipe is a keeper.  It was inspired by something I saw in Real Simple. 

Ingredients

  • Puff Pastry
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Pesto
  • Heirloom tomatoes (I used a mix of small red, yellow and purple)
  • Italian cheese blend (parm., Asiago, Pecorino, and Fontina)
  • Pasta sprinkle from Penzeyes (no time to cut fresh)

Combine a spoonful of pesto with the ricotta and spread on the pastry.  Cut the tomatoes in half and toss with another spoonful of pesto.  Sprinkle on the ricotta and top with cheese, then sprinkle with the herbs.  Bake until 5 minutes before you need to run out the door (about 12 minutes at 425). 

Next time, when I am not rushing, I will probably bake a little more slowly and lower – like 15 minutes at 400.

Straight from the Oven

Then on Sunday, I spent some time making a meal for a friend. The challenge was everything needed to be prepared in advance and last in the fridge for several hours.  The resulting menu was inspired by fresh food and a touch of Asia, and included:

  • Asian Marinated Skirt Steak
  • Cucumber-Red Pepper Salad in Thai Vinaigrette
  • Green Beans
  • Sweet Potatoes mashed with Coconut Milk and Red Curry
  • Plum tart with vanilla ice cream

The plum tart was made from the bounty food and hopefully was sweet, but not overpowering.  I wanted the produce to star in it.

Ended the weekend with a quick veggie saute – eggplant, onions, peppers, tomatoes, fresh herbs … wonderful way to end the weekend.

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Ceilithe Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Cooking

  1. kbosin says:

    YUM. Love the pesto in the tomato tart. Thanks! I’ll add this to my menu this week!

Leave a Reply

