Summer Challenge

As mentioned previously, I’m lucky to have a CSA-like food coop that delivers produce to the neighborhood every other week.  Yesterday, I picked up the bounty and have a lot of great items to use … some of my favorite items is the huge number of heirloom tomatoes, the glossy eggplant, and Vidalia onions.

I’m on a restricted diet right now due to some recent surgery so some items have been shared with co-workers, like the lettuce, apples, and the bananas, but the bananas are a personal preference issue.

What to make with the remaining items?  I think the plums and peaches may be incorporated into a desert that I need to bring a friend on Monday.  The tomatoes will be turned into a salad with some fresh mozzarella and perhaps a sauce (again due to the limited diet).  The eggplant and peppers may be roasted and served with some goat cheese … would love to do a pasta, but that is not allowed quite yet.  Hmm … lots of options to consider!

 

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Summer Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

