Cook Book Challenge – Book #1

So, this weekend I started the Cook Book Challenge.  I had surgery about 2 weeks ago and have been on a liquid only diet so even though it is definitely summer weather here, I made soup.  A wonderful silky corn soup from Radically Simple by Roxanne Gold.  I have no idea where or when I received this book, but boy, is it great! Really nice, simple, but delicious recipes.  It is well-organized with lots of thought-starters, such as great appetizer pairings (link to book http://www.amazon.com/Radically-Simple-Brilliant-Breathtaking-Award-Winning/dp/1605294705)

 

I chose to make Silky Corn Soup.  It was very straight-forward.  The ingredient list:

  • 6 ears of corn
  • 2 bunches of scallions
  • 3 T of butter
  • Sriracha sauce
  • Water (although that is not listed in the book)

 

Simply saute one onion (it called for scallions, but I was still in recovery mode and not up for an extra trip to the store) and corn cut from the cob.  I used the cobs to make a corn broth (simmer corn and onion for about 45 minutes).  As a  side note, I turned a few pages and found a recipe for that … definitely worth doing whenever you have corn cobs, I freeze and add it veggie soups, chowder,etc. 

Corn broth simmeringCorn and onions

 

After it has cooked a bit, add the corn broth.  I added about 5 cups, and bring to a boil.  Then let it simmer for 15-30 minutes.  Once it has cooked down a bit, blend.  I love my immersion blender,  but a traditional one would work just fine.

Time to blend

I brought the blended mix back up to a low simmer and added  a touch  of cream, less than 2 tablespoons.  Then comes the messy part … straining all of the corn out of the broth.  I neglected to capture photos of this.  Once it has been strained, it is ready to go and tastes like the essence of fresh corn.  At the end, add some Sriracha sauce to taste. 

Hot stuff!

The recipe called for 1/4 of teaspoon, but I was more generous.  It added a great touch of flavor.  The soup would be a terrific starter for a meal, or if you wanted to be a lunch or dinner, I’d suggest adding some sautéed whole corn or perhaps some crab meat.  The soup has a delicate flavor and freezes well.  A great way to use some of that summer corn.

Enjoy!

 

 

About cookbooksandceilithe

For the past two years, I've been working more than full-time while getting my MBA. Now, that graduation has come and gone, I want to indulge in two of passions - cooking and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Cook book, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.